seekernoob.blogg.se

Ssd for macbook pro mid 2010
Ssd for macbook pro mid 2010










  1. #Ssd for macbook pro mid 2010 mac os x
  2. #Ssd for macbook pro mid 2010 software
  3. #Ssd for macbook pro mid 2010 download
  4. #Ssd for macbook pro mid 2010 windows

#Ssd for macbook pro mid 2010 windows

Copying over your SSD is usually no problem, but issues can occur sometimes, especially if you copy over your windows partition as well.

#Ssd for macbook pro mid 2010 software

Just check your manufacturers website or do a google search on your drive to see if its necessary.Īnother thing you see all over the place is people recommending software for doing a copy over to your new SSD. Enabling it when you don't have to can sometimes slow down performance slightly but it will not hurt anything. My SSD did not require me to enable TRIM, so I didn't. You only need to do that though if your SSD DOES NOT already do it for you. If you don't, it might delay your boot time because it thinks it has to look for the disk in the Original HD Bay.Īnother tip that you will see all over the place is to enabling TRIM on your SSD. Now after you get all your pieces in place, be sure to go to System Preferences > Start Up Disk and set your SSD as the startup disk.

#Ssd for macbook pro mid 2010 mac os x

You could also partition it in a format that both Mac OS X and Windows 7 can access, such as ExFAT, so that they both play nice with the space and you have extra storage that both can share.

#Ssd for macbook pro mid 2010 download

I download and store all my heavy giant waste of space extra files on that partition so I don't take up space on my precious and fast SSD in the Optibay. Since I use the SSD for pure Apple Stuff, I took the original Mac OS X partition that was on my Original Mechanical HD and just reformatted it to extra space for my Mac.

ssd for macbook pro mid 2010

Also, by keeping it there, you keep windows from having any possible issues with booting from the Optibay (though when I had the Original Mechanical HD in the Optibay as a test, it booted just fine). Also, I am rarely ever on Windows, I only use it to play some games and to do some Windows Development on every once in a while. Installing Windows is a pain the butt and I didn't want to do it again. Now as for Windows, since I had Windows Installed on a 50 GB partition of the Original Mechanical HD, I just left it there. # 3 is the default mode, we want to change this to 0 to disable disk writes. You can disable Hibernation with the following command: # Check Current Hibernation Status If it does freeze or cause issues, then I would recommend disabling Hibernation.

ssd for macbook pro mid 2010

I would recommend testing it out though, leaving Hibernation turned on, sleeping your machine while NOT doing any important work, and seeing if it wakes, doing it multiple times, just to be sure. Now the article says that it has been fixed but it does not state anything about Optibays, it only states its fixed for the SSDs in the Original HD Bay.

ssd for macbook pro mid 2010

I don't like or need hibernation personally and I like the extra space I get from disabling it. I have not tested this personally on my machine because of the fact that I am used to having hibernation disabled. Now some searching on the issue recently showed me that as of 10.8.1, this issue of freezing when waking from sleep had been fixed. Personally I only do really important work while the charger is plugged in because of the fact that I am doing that work for 8 hours straight. So this is a risk you will have to be willing to take but it is up to you. Now obviously, this means that if I was working on something important and my battery dies, then I will have lost it forever. This had a few nice perks, such as faster sleep and resume and the gaining back of 8 GB of SSD space that was wasted by the Hibernate RAM Image that Hibernate will make before your machine runs out of battery. The next issue I faced was the fact that Mac's can freeze when trying to do hibernate with an SSD in the Optibay. So I put the SSD in the Optibay and boot into OS X. The Optibay doesn't have a motion sensor and the Original Mechanical HD isn't motion sensor equipped. I, like you, put the SSD in the Optibay because of the motion sensor issue.

ssd for macbook pro mid 2010

Ok, so here is the reasons for the described setup. Original Mechanical HD: Windows 7 Partition / Mac OS Extended (Journaled) Windows Boot Disk: Original Mechanical HD I went through a lot of the same questions you were asking and had to search high and low to find my answers.įirst of all, this is my setup: MacBook Pro Mid 2009












Ssd for macbook pro mid 2010